Tags

, , , ,

I have to admit, as much as I love the process of getting dressed up (a glass of moscato, Amy Winehouse playing in the background), I’m not into trying new make-up looks. And, I’m not much into color either. I’ll do a red lip for a black tie event, or an occasional smoky eye for a night out on the town, but I’ll usually just stick to the basics. For evening, I use a lot more blush. Here is my everyday look:

I used the following products:

bareMinerals original SPF 15 Foundation in Tan – Pretty sure I’ll never use another type of foundation again. I love how this makes my skin glow, and it looks and feels like I’m not wearing any makeup.

Make Up Forever Full Cover Camouflage Cream in #12 – Great coverage, perfect color.

MAC Blush in Desert Rose – I’ve been using this forever. I should probably branch out and try a new color. Though, I do use Nars Orgasm over this in the evening for an extra pop.

Sephora Lip Attitude in Beige Star – This is a new addition to my makeup routine. It’s a sparkly nude color and a mix between lipstick and lipgloss. I don’t usually like gloss, but I couldn’t resist this after trying it on at Sephora.

Mally Waterproof Liner in Midnight – (though, I usually use MAC Fluidline in Blacktrack) – I got this as a sample. It goes on nice and smooth. I’ll use this for daytime (since it’s easy to put on) and I’ll use Mac in the evening.

Bare Escentuals Buxom Lash – This definitely lengthens, but doesn’t thicken. I prefer a more dramatic look. I’ll layer this with my favorite mascara: L’Oreal Voluminous in Carbon Black for an ultra-glam look.

Random drugstore lip pencil in brown (also used for my eyebrows)

I also need to give a shout out to the Tancho Tique Stick I use to tame flyways and smooth my edges. AMAZING, and it smells oh so good!

Before I applied makeup, I used:

Philosophy Miracle Worker Miraculous Anti-Aging Moisturizer: I received a sample of this from Sephora, and I like this much better than Hope in a Jar because the consistency is thicker. I’m crazy about luxurious feeling, pudding-like face creams- this doesn’t exactly meet my requirements, but I like it nevertheless (I don’t have dry skin, so I probably don’t need to use the luscious moisturizers that I’m so drawn to anyway). I also like this moisturizer because as I get closer and closer to 30, I’m find myself trying out more anti-aging products. Now, would I spend $55 on this? Most likely not because I’m convinced I can find a drugstore brand that’s just as good or better.

Shiseido White Lucent Brightening Toning Lotion: I received a sample of this, and I love it! I feel like it instantly brightens up my skin.

Nars Pro Prime Pore Refining Primer: This is one of the samples I received from Sephora. The consistency was more like a moisturizer than silky smooth like the other primers I’m used to. I don’t have oily skin so I can’t really tell how effective this is at keeping oil at bay. I’ll stick to my drugstore brand primer (Maybelline Instant Age Rewind Primer) because it goes on like silk.

In closing, since I’m writing a blog now, I’ll try my best to experiment with new and bold makeup looks (but I’m hoping Abena and Ama will volunteer to do this instead). After my “makeover” at Sephora yesterday, I have to admit I’m a bit reluctant. I walked out of there feeling like a 1980s streetwalker! I think it aged me 10 years. Take a look:

What do you think??? Before or after??

XoXo,

Kristina

